go to Geo Centre homepage

GeoEngineering Seminar Schedule

Winter 2015

the schedule will be updated as information becomes available...

 
Our seminars are sponsored by Golder logo
Date Time Presenter/Subject Location
Wed, Jan 14

 

Cancelled
Ellis 324
Wed, Jan 21 4:30 - 6 pm
John Westland, P.Eng, Principal, Golder Associates, Mississauga, "Some Failures of the Geotechnical Variety"
Ellis 324
Wed, Jan 28 4:30 - 6 pm

Heather Jamieson, Geological Engineering, Queen's University, "Giant Gold Mine, NWT: A Complex and Expensive Legacy of Arsenic Contamination"

Ellis 324
Wed, Feb 4

4:30 - 6 pm

Ellis 324
Wed, Feb 11 4:30 - 6 pm
Victor Milligan Lecture: Carlos Santamarina, Georgia Tech, Terzaghi Lecture, "Energy Geotechnology: Enabling New Insights into Soil Behaviour"
Ellis 324
Wed, Feb 18  

READING WEEK

NO SEMINAR

 
Wed, Feb 25

4:30 - 6 pm

Georgia Fotopoulos, PhD, PEng, Associate Professor, Dept. of Geological Sciences and Geological Engineering, Queen's University, "What do Nike and De Beers have in common?"
Ellis 324
Wed, Mar 4 5:30 - 8 pm Ellis 324
Wed, Mar 11 4:30 - 6 pm
Dr. Andrew Ramsburg, Dept of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Tufts University, "Emulsion-based delivery of amendments used during subsurface remediation"
Ellis 324
Wed, Mar 18 4:30 - 6 pm
Abouzar Sadrekarimi, Dept of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Western University, "Laboratory Calibration of Cone Penetration Testing"
Ellis 324
Wed, Mar 25 4:30 - 6 pm
Paul van Geel, Environmental Engineering and Chair of the Dept of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Carleton University, "Optimization of waste stabilization in landfills in northern climates"
Ellis 324
Wed, Apr 1 4:30 - 6 pm
Catherine Mulligan, Concordia Institute for Water, Engergy and Sustainable Systems, "Sustainable Practices in Geoenvironmental Engineering"
Ellis 324
Thu, Apr 9 1:30 - 3 pm

Recording of student presentations for CGS conference.
Presentations by:

Sina Javankhoshdel
Jennifer Day
Amy Rentz
Kaiwen Liu
Brad Forbes

Ellis 324
Wed, Apr 15 4:30 - 6 pm

Student presentations

  1. Ning Luo, "Probabilistic slope stability analysis of reinforced slopes by finite element method'
  2. Stephen Holt
  3. Hesham Eldesouky
  4. Amir Hashemi
Ellis 324
Wed, Apr 22 4:30 - 6 pm

Student presentations

  1. Vanessa Di Battista
  2. Tikang Li
  3. Ahmed Abdel Razek
  4. Mohamed Morsy
Ellis 324
Thu, May 14 3 - 4:30 pm
Stephen Fityus, Professor in Geotechnical Engineering, Assistant Dean Research for the Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment, School of Engineering, University of Newcastle, UK, "The mechanics of coal mining waste rock"
Dunning 11
Wed, May 20 3 - 4:30 pm
Mark Talesnick, Faculty of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Technion – IIT, Haifa, Israel, "Unravelling the measurement of Ko"
Dunning 11

About Us | Members | Research | Grads | Students | Industry | Links | Contact | Home

© 2003 - 2015 GeoEngineering Centre at Queen's - RMC. All rights reserved. www.geoeng.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Home
About Us
Member Directory
Research
Our Grads
Student info
Industry info
Links
Contact
Barrier Systems
to Queen's University home page to RMC home page

link to Queen's University home page to RMC home page